Time to face facts … I’m 40

29 Mar

 

Ballerina Cake by Heidelberg Cakes

Ballerina Cake by Heidelberg Cakes

There’s been some kind of freak-of-nature accident which has resulted in my being transported forward in time to my 40th birthday. Because I’m actually only 25 years old.

Okay, well actually, no, but that’s sure how it feels. I can hardly believe that I’ve reached this milestone, but here I am. Not being much of a party person, I managed to avoid having a party by instead having a whole 40th festival, spanning 3 weeks. And now it’s done, I don’t want to do it again for at least another 10 years.

But seriously, it was great. The whole shebang (except for the bit where I gave myself a nasty bump on the head after a few too many drinks … but maybe we won’t go into that). One of the celebrations was a lunch for family and a few close family friends which was expertly catered for by Bec and Dave of Stir it Up Catering in Glengowrie, South Australia. A gluten-free gourmet barbecue spread. Absolutely fantastic!

Then there was the cake. Stuck for ideas, I went with the cake that I’d always wanted as a child (sorry about the guilt-trip, Mum!). The ballerina cake from the Australian Womens’ Weekly Children’s Birthday Cake Book. I grew up in regional South Australia, so there was no chance of getting those ballerinas. In fact, I don’t think I even asked for the cake because I knew we’d never get to the shop that sold them.

So it seemed the obvious choice for my 40th. Sort of like a bucket-list cake.  It was a magnificent gluten-free creation by Heidelberg Cakes. And because it said “Happy 40th Birthday Kate”, it attracted much interest when I went to pick it up from the shop. It was fantastic on the inside, too – chocolate mousse sandwiched between layers of light and fluffy chocolate sponge.

And the best bit? Owner and cake-maker James is a Coeliac, so he really knows his stuff. It was novel not to have to worry about cross-contamination!

My eldest daughter celebrated her birthday this past week. When flicking through the latest Australian Womens’ Weekly Kids’ Party Cakes Cookbook, she suggested I make her the Carousel birthday cake, which looks monstrously difficult. Naturally, I suggested that she pay a cakemaker to create it for her 40th birthday!

 

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Time to face facts … I’m 40”

  1. Dana @ Celiac Kiddo March 29, 2014 at 2:48 pm #

    Kate, I love this post! Happy 40th birthday, I’m right behind you 🙂 I adore your cake and am totally doing that for mine next year!
    -Dana

  2. booksaremyfavouriteandbest March 30, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    Love that you had a ‘bucket list cake’. I never got the AWW cakes either (but that was because my mum, although a great cook, was never a baker) – my AWW bucket list cake? The swimming pool, complete with blue jelly.

  3. uberdish March 30, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Kate! Your cake is absolutely beautiful! You have now inspired me to tell family members about my ‘bucket list cake’ – a cake that would resemble a wildflower meadow complete with butterflies – one for every year, perhaps. 🙂 Enjoy your 40s (I’ve got almost 6 years on you) – it’s really the new 30!!

  4. gfandme April 1, 2014 at 10:24 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I too love that cake. I haven’t seen those ballerinas for a while!

Leave a comment